Happy holiday!

May 5, 2008 at 9:31 pm | Posted in Me, rheumatoid arthritis (RA) | Leave a comment

Just come back from a lovely relaxing holiday, staying with friends near Brighton. We’ve stayed with them before and just last year I was walking the three miles to and from Brighton along the seafront quite happily – well OK, if I’m honest I had blisters the size of small houses on both feet, but I did manage the walk two or three times in a week, and even enjoy it once I’d got comfy shoes on!

This time of course, after the dreaded RA had struck, there was absolutely no way I was walking six miles, and I did find it a struggle at first to stay cheerful. Last year we walked to Brighton Pier and back on the first day we arrived. This year our friends said, ‘Fancy a walk after lunch’ and I had to explain that I did, but that I certainly wouldn’t be getting to the pier!

Still, we had a lovely time, and I managed a gentle walk to one of the many beach-front cafes that first day, and although I had one evening when I was in absolute agony every time I tried to move my left knee, I was pretty OK for most of the holiday.

So plenty of reasons to be thankful! There was still so much I COULD do, provided I did it with some forethought and at my own pace. We had some lovely walks around Wakehurst Place and Herstmonceux Castle grounds, although I had to forgo a tour of the castle itself as that would have been an hour on my feet; and we had some lovely gentle walks along the seafront too. There was an excellent bus service into Brighton so I could still get to the pier and beach on the one sunny day we had! All in all I feel very lucky that I could still do so much, and who knows – if the hydrochloroquine works I could be making that walk to and from the pier next time we stay with our friends. I’m already looking forward to it.

Get a free blog at WordPress.com | Theme: Pool by Borja Fernandez.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 95 other followers