Off the Diclofenac

May 1, 2009 at 5:31 pm | Posted in rheumatoid arthritis (RA) | Leave a comment

Well, after a really horrible stomach upset which, without going into ‘too much information’ in case someone’s eating while they read this, made it pretty clear that the diclofenac was the cause, I came off it and went on to a low dose of another NSAID called Arcoxia. Now I didn’t think I was that fussed about swallowing down the pills, but I can’t even begin to tell you what a great difference it made psychologically to be taking one tablet a day for inflammation instead of three! Oh yeah, and the stomach settled down too, as if by magic.

Unfortunately I felt great for about a week and then the RA started to bite again. So I’m now on an increased dose of Arcoxia, but happily still only one tablet. The inflammation seems to have calmed down again.

This of course begs an interesting question – if I come off the diclofenac for a week and start to get all inflamed again (and I don’t think I’d call it a flare, it was just a steady increase in pain and swelling), then is the m-m-m-methotrexate actually doing any good? That’s one the GP couldn’t answer, so I shall look forward (as far as it is possible to do so) to my consultant appointment at the end of June. Whether I a) remember to ask and b) get any kind of sensible answer is anyone’s guess. Care to guess, anyone?

7 things I love

May 1, 2009 at 5:23 pm | Posted in Me, rheumatoid arthritis (RA) | 5 Comments
Tags:

Continuing Cathy’s blog chain (which I don’t think qualifies as a meme, by the way, but you don’t want the scientific explanation as to why, I’m sure!) Thanks for ‘inviting’ me  Robin! I will resist the temptation to say ‘hubby’ seven times!

1. Hubby
2. My mum and brother… even when I’m not invited to his 40th birthday party that he hasn’t told me he’s having.
3. My cats, past and present … and future, no doubt. There’s one trying to worm her (or possibly his) way into our affections, our house and Enormous and Middle-Sized Cat’s food. Obviously she(?) has heard there’s a vacancy for a tiny cat and she does fit the bill.
4. Sweet stuff, cakes, puddings, chocolates, you name it. Well … let’s be honest … FOOD!
5. Living in the country …after surviving my first eighteen years in London!
6. The smell of the earth after rain.
7. True friends. (Having been through an AJ experience recently of discovering who my friends really aren’t.)

I’m tagging (except I don’t know if there’s a way of letting them know this, so they probably won’t know!):

Arthritis Mom – Jennie

Britta

Anyone who’s blogging in the UK on RA that I don’t know about yet

Anyone over 40 who’s blogging about RA that I don’t know about yet – please make yourself known so I can stop feeling so OLD!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 88 other followers