Barcelona Photo Diary

September 27, 2009 at 10:46 am | Posted in rheumatoid arthritis (RA) | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , ,
Terry and Marilyn on the first night.

Terry and her mum, Marilyn, about to consume a late supper. The three of us all arrived together from Stanstead, and got to the hotel about 10.15 p.m. on Sunday night, tired and more than a little peckish, only to find the buffet that had been organised for our group had all been cleared away! So ...we got to choose what we liked from the a la carte menu instead!

Just one corner of my room!

Just one corner of my room at Hotel 1898! There was also room for a desk, wardrobe, table and chair for relaxing, and of course a nice big en suite

The focus group

The focus group, where we all hear each other's stories. The simultaneous translators were phenomenal - I don't know how they do it!

Ventilation chimneys on Palais GualThe rather austere exterior to Gaudi's Palais Guell - alas, the queues were too long so I didn't visit the inside.

Plenty of time to explore the nearby bits of Barcelona between groups! These (left) are ventilation chimney covers on Palais Gual, designed by Barcelona's most famous 'son' (although he wasn't born there), Anton Gaudi. Right is the rather austere exterior to Gaudi's Palais Guell - alas, the queues were too long so I didn't visit the inside.

I took over TWO HUNDRED photos of Barcelona, but obviously I can’t put them all up here, so you’ll just have to take my word for it – it was fabulous!

Penguin (left, with neck brace), sitting with Mary and Marie-Therese from Malta and Rosa from Spain2009 09 21 Barcelona 167_small

From the left: Penguin (left, with neck brace), sitting with Mary and Marie-Therese from Malta and Rosa from Spain. On the right: the group learns how to think in soundbites. The two fantastic translators are standing at the back.

Casa Batllo, famous for being made entirely out of curves - not a straight line in sight. (Gaudi again, of course.) 2009 09 21 Barcelona 193

In the afternoon I visited Casa Batllo, famous for being made entirely out of curves - not a straight line in sight. (Gaudi again, of course.)

I haven’t got any pictures of me ‘speaking to camera’ on Tuesday morning – this may well be a good thing! It will be interesting to see if they use any of my soundbites on the My Day for RA site … when they get round to updating it. Then I had the rest of the day entirely free until the evening event. Here’s just a couple more pictures to whet your appetite if you’re thinking of visiting!

Left: A square of Los Ramblas. Right: I'm embarassed to say I forget where - there are so many beautiful places!2009 09 22 Barcelona 066

Left: A square of Los Ramblas. Right: I'm embarrassed to say I forget where - there are so many beautiful places!

And so to the big event … not my sort of thing really, and it did go ON, but quite fun all in all!

Javier Bovea Ahis seranades Samantha - he did this a LOT! He had an eye for the beautiful ladies!

Javier Bovea Ahis seranades Samantha - he did this a LOT! He had an eye for the beautiful ladies!

2009 09 22 Barcelona 105_edited-1

Our favorite opera singer dances with Mary (I think her name was Mary) who has evidently now recovered from having her head bashed by a paparazzi camera ...

Terry (right) with her new best friend, Jane Seymour (taking a break from the Opera and Spanish conversation on her table, behind us)

Terry (right) with her new best friend, Jane Seymour (taking a break from the Opera and Spanish conversation on her table, behind us)

And so to bed. Luckily I don’t have any photos of me rowing with the airport officials the next day; sadly I also don’t have any photos of the fabulous flight over the Pyrenees, or the glorious sunset that greeted me when I finally arrived home in Norfolk … or the lovely hubby that also greeted me … so … that’s all folks!

Get a free blog at WordPress.com | Theme: Pool by Borja Fernandez.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers