I’m fed up with being a yo-yo!

March 24, 2010 at 10:46 am | Posted in Me, rheumatoid arthritis (RA) | 7 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

On the plus side, at least a yo-yo goes up as well as down! I’ve had another mini-flare (fizzle, floret?) since I last posted, which is why I’ve been so quiet lately … well, that and the fact that work has been insanely busy lately. I rather strongly suspect the two are connected!

I have posted before, once or twice :-) on the importance of pacing yourself and a week or so ago I gave a great demonstration of exactly how now to do that! Worked long hours, worked part of the weekend, ignored the warning signs, took paracetamol or rubbed in magic herbal rub stuff and just kept on working … and of course woke up one morning almost unable to get out of bed. I did get out of bed … still had deadlines to meet, but came home early in a LOT of pain.

So, what would a sensible person do at this point? Take some painkillers, go to bed and have a bit of a snooze probably. I thought, ‘Well, I don’t feel well enough to work but I still have all this City and Guilds embroidery stuff I need to do, so I’ll go to bed with some research books for that …’

Eventually I reached a point where I HAD to go to sleep, but was still trying not to as I thought that would mean I wouldn’t sleep at night. I got to the point where I realised that I’d need matchsticks if I was going to keep my eyes open and gave in.

At this point I was still in a LOT of pain but did drift off to sleep … and woke up an hour later feeling fine! I know sleep is important, but that’s a really extreme example! And I did sleep well that night too. I must have been really sleep deprived and not even realised it!

Mind you, waking up with five to ten hot flushes (flashes) per night is not exactly helping on the sleep front.

Still, things are looking up – work is now steady (which means that I’ll be panicking in a week or two that there’s not enough), apart from one odd twingey pain in one knuckle I’m not bad on the RA front … the yo-yo is on the upswing again … and will hopefully sit at the top for a while at least!

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Glad its on the upswing! Those downswings are no fun!

  2. Haha! Florets – I like that! Or perhaps flarets?! Sorry you weren’t feeeling well, but glad you’re on your way to getting better. Me, I can’t seem to get enough sleep and forgot to set my alarm last night – a Freudian slip of sorts, I think! :) Laurie

  3. I forgot to set my alarm clock so often that hubby sets his own for two minutes later just in case! Mind you, if we did really oversleep I think the cats would have us up soon enough!

  4. “Florets” is great!

    Sleep is definitely a problem for me, too – and I hate napping during the day. No matter how rotten I feel, I can never convince myself that it’s not just a waste of time.

    I hope you’re sleeping better and feeling better soon. It’s good to be busy, but we all need the occasional break.

  5. Too right about breaks, Helen. I could REALLY use one! Hopefully I’ll have a nice relaxing weekend this time. I worked Saturday last weekend. ;o(

    Sleep is just SUCH a problem – that’s just how I feel about naps during the day. Have to be half dead before I’m prepared to have one, even though I know I always feel better afterwards. It’s very silly!

  6. I know what you mean about being a yo-yo. I am getting tired of it, but we do not have a choice. The last three days, it is my back that hurts, and it is as bad as if I had injured it in auto accident or something. It is hard to do anything and I just want to lay down all day but I have to work, take care of my children, and live my life. And I have all over muscle pain, thank you fibromyaliga, and it seems like the joint pain is minor compared to the muscle the last three days. I guess the weather fluncutations don’t help either. And sleep, forget it. I can never fall asleep until I am extremely exhuasted. Anyway, I hope you feel better soon.

  7. As you know, I can certainly empathise with the work yo-yoeyness of it all (what a splendid word I’ve just invented!) Unfortunately I can also empathise with the whole lack of sleep thing too. Hope you’re sleeping and feeling better soon.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

