See the shattered penguin …

January 25, 2012 at 10:24 pm | Posted in fibromyalgia, Me, rheumatoid arthritis (RA) | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve spent the last six months on a very useful course run by our local university business school, on helping small businesses to grow. It’s been great and I’ve met some lovely people along the way. Tonight we were asked to do a ‘showcase’ where each of the businesses on the course had a little exhibition stand and said a few words into a mike and generally chatted to invited guests, university bigwigs, previous course attendees and each other.

Unfortunately I was dreading it because I knew the admin was a mess. Fortunately although the admin was a mess, a handful of very brave people had stepped in at the last minute to salvage what they could, and they did a marvellous job. However, as suspected, when we arrived to set up our exhibit, rather than the floor-plan with everyone’s tables labelled, display boards there and of course, vital for me, and definitely requested in advance, CHAIRS, there was organised chaos.

Fortunately the wonderful people who’d stepped in at the last minute were on hand to sort everything out, and equally fortunately we’d brought some folding chairs with us! I did feel sorry for some of the others though, as there were no chairs available at all.

Having said that, once the evening got going I hardly had a chance to sit down, as we were all buzzing about and chatting to each other. There was a really good atmosphere and, in spite of not looking forward to it, we had FUN. On the other hand, I’m absolutely wiped out, completely shattered, totally exhausted … and my left knee is giving me gyp from so much standing around.

Entirely my own fault of course. I had a chair, I have the capability to sit down in it, but I suppose it was partly not wanting to miss out on anything and partly the old not wanting to admit I had a problem, leading to one of those conversations. You know the ones: ‘My auntie’s got arthritis too. It’s all cleared up though since she started rubbing in bindweed’ or ‘all you have to do to get rid of it is lose some weight.’* What I should have done was go and have a chat with the yoga lady and get her to give me some stretching exercises – but every time I looked in her direction (at least right up until the last few minutes) she was deep in conversation.

Oh well, working from home tomorrow so I think that might start with a bit of a lie-in!

* Not that I’m denying that would help!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. We are humans after all and we are involved in a passionate pursuit we tend to forget about ourselves and our body’s needs. Glad the event went well and hopefully with a good day of rest, you can once again return to your passionate pursuits. Hoping that the knee thing was a one day event and not the onset of a flare. Feel better soon!

  2. Oh the things we do to “have a good time” only to have to take more time to “re-coup_…LOL
    I decided there is not one thing i do, that doesn’t “undo” somethings else on my body…. but will work with what i’ve got… there are so many worse off than me..
    Now off to stand at the quilting machine.. for some fun.. then take the tylenol to help me sleep tonight….:)

  3. Hi Deb, YAY! It was a one-day event!! Phew. Returned to another ‘passionate pursuit’ yesterday – photography, and was almost kneeling on that knee without many problems. :-)

    Hi Barbara – yes, that sounds very familiar… and nicely put!! You and I are lucky in that tylenol actually makes a difference to us! :-) Oooh, a quilting machine – see the jealous penguin. Not that I’ve ever made a quilt or anything else big enough to need a quilting machine, but I’ve seen the results of them of course and you can get some fab designs on them.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

