‘I can see clearly now, the vague has gone!’

August 29, 2013 at 9:39 pm | Posted in Me | 6 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

(Apologies to Johnny Nash!)

I’m on hydroxychloroquine, which means I’m supposed to have an eye test every year – but I forgot and the optician forgot to send me a reminder!

Then a vague concern that my eyesight might not be as clear as it ought to be, combined with being unable to remember when I had my last eye test made me go and check with the optician, who is handily just down the road from work.

And the outcome is – I have glasses – first time ever – for distance vision i.e. basically driving. It’s slightly concerning (to me, but not to the optician, so it must be OK really) how much clearer things are, considering I only had the vaguest inkling that I might have a problem, and especially considering that two years ago (my last eye test) I didn’t have a problem! If I look at things without the glasses they don’t appear blurred – but then I put them on and they’re suddenly incredibly clear!

I suppose these things just creep up on one – the eye-sight deteriorated pretty gradually over those two years, and it’s only a very light prescription I have now, but the difference is quite extraordinary.

I’m getting used to them – or at least I’ve now stopped having hysterics every time I catch sight of myself in a mirror or shop window!

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wearing specs for the first time IS a bit … jarring … when one looks in a mirror, but it’s sure nice being able to see things better. I’ve worn them for the last 15 years or so; I hardly think about it anymore–except these last frames I picked out were a mistake. Sigh. I really don’t like them, but frames are pricey, so I’ll just have to wait.

    I bet you look quite nice in your new glasses, Penguin. And wise! ;)

  2. Hi Wren,

    Sorry to hear about your latest frames – I’ve gone for rimless ones myself so they don’t really show that much … apparently! But I still certainly notice them!! I did see a friend for a coffee yesterday and put them on and it took her a while to notice!

    Wise? I fear not! Perhaps I should change my name to Pollyanna Wise Old Owl?

  3. Oh goodness. What an adjustment! I hate things around my face so I hate glasses. Wore contacts for years, then finally went for Lasik a few years ago. That worked until I needed reading glasses. Now I wear multi-focal contacts or just the occasional reading glasses when I needed them (to read menus in restaurants, etc.). Good luck. I do bet you look smashing.

  4. Hi Carla,

    Glad you’ve found a solution that works for you – since mine are only distance glasses lenses really weren’t an option – probably a good thing as i think I’d struggle to adjust to them!

    LOL re looking smashing – I probably don’t look any worse than I normally do really! :-)

  5. Ah well – there are those of us who started with the whole glasses thing a LONG time ago! I was 6 or 7 when I had my first pair – and marvelled all the way home on the bus. Did anyone know trees have leaves? I thought they were like children’s paintings of a tree – a green blob. I didn’t mind as long as my parents were prepared to get “proper” frames and not the children’s offering on the NHS (tortoiseshell or pale pink) For years I did have rimless ones – but the last pair were bright red and, at the time, quite daring. Now they look very tame – and I need new ones anyway. Unfortunately, here in Italy frames are megabucks…

    Eileen

  6. Hi Eileen

    Oh I remember those NHS frames – awful! (I didn’t have to wear them of course, but I do remember them.)

    Red still sounds pretty daring to me!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 99 other followers

