Advertising doctors

December 2, 2013 at 2:39 pm | Posted in arthrits, rheumatoid arthritis, fibromyalgia, joint pai, fibromyalgia, Me, rheumatoid arthritis (RA) | 2 Comments

Being in the UK, where doctors are forbidden from advertising, and coming from a family full of doctors, the whole concept of doctors advertising makes me feel slightly queasy, although I appreciate that in other cultures (notably the US of course) it’s absolutely the norm; but when I get advertising pretending to be a comment on my blog it doesn’t just make me queasy, it makes me cross.

We’ve had this before of course – from ‘the mattress people’ among others – but when it’s a doctor it makes me really angry – especially when I’m sitting here in pain and dribbling my coffee after just having had a tooth filled … thus not being in the best of moods anyway. (The pain is RA – the tooth doesn’t hurt at the moment, being numb!)

Here is the comment from the doctor (or at least the doctor’s marketing people) that has got me so riled – but sorry guys – your link and name won’t appear!

Continued pain issue, clueless Rheumatologist, non-stop painkiller, side effects, seems like story of everybody with Rheumatoid Arthritis. Whether you are already diagnosed or feeling pain, choosing a right Rheumatologist can make or break you. Like, my had a issue in her knee and it was treated. Though it pains her sometime but her Rheumatologist at xxxxxxx, make it sure it happens seldom and we trust them. So, it’s better to ask your Rheumatologist even in slightest pain before it magnifies.

They can’t even think of an appropriate person who is supposed to have RA – note the ‘my had a issue in her knee’.  My what – and don’t you mean ‘an issue’? And it should be ‘simetimes’ and that ‘Like’ is poor usage and so is the ‘but’ and why should my Rheumatologist be in the slightest pain? (I’m a bit of a grammar freak, especially when in a bad mood!)

And don’t you just love the ‘and we trust them’ when this is actually FROM them?! Perhaps what it should have read was ‘my patient had an issue in her knee’.

At least  I suppose I should give them points for having actually read the article and commented appropriately … but nobody gets points in my book for ‘black hat marketing’.

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr… right, back to work … and dribbling.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I have been readingand enjoy your blog for quite some time but rarely comment. was thinking about this post. I would be fit to be tied if someone marketed to me like that. By the way, I don’t think doctors here in the US market themselves. At least I have never seen it here in the Northeast. On the other hand the hospitals market themselves shamelessly.

  2. Thanks Ginny – glad you’re enjoying the blog. :-) It’s a fascinating tangle, this advertising business (that’s the doctors/hospitals thing, not the blog thing) and I’d love to untangle it but judging by all the comments I’ve had it’s way too complicated and varies across the States – and if the hospitals advertise their doctors then that kind of amounts to the same thing I guess …


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

