Cutting back on the tabs!

June 13, 2014 at 10:27 am | Posted in arthrits, rheumatoid arthritis, fibromyalgia, joint pai, Me, rheumatoid arthritis (RA) | 8 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You may have noticed I haven’t actually said anything much about my RA for a while … well that’s because it’s not really affecting me in a big way, and hasn’t been for a while. And yes – I do appreciate how bloomin’ lucky I am!

I saw my consultant the other day and for once we were in agreement – things are going well both from his point of view (bloods and 2-second examination) and mine (how I actually feel). These two things rarely combine but this time they did, and what’s more, six months ago when I saw the nurse things were going well too, so we’ve made the decision to cut back on the tablets.

I must say I felt awfully brave doing that … still do actually, it’s scary how dependent one gets on the comfort of knowing that if you keep taking the tablets things are mostly OK. It’s only the anti-inflammatories that I’m cutting back on at the moment, and the idea is that if that goes OK I’ll step down my methotrexate next time I see him. In fact, I’ve cut out the anti-inflammatories altogether for five days so far and things are going well. Apart from the odd twinges in my bad knee and occasional mild stiffness and achiness if I wake up after a cold night, I’ve had very little indication that they were making any difference. Unlike the methotraxate, there was no build-up with the anti-inflams I was taking, so the good news is that I can cut them out for the moment but if I have a flare, or just a bad, achy day, I can take one whenever I need to.

Of course we’ve had five days of glorious sunshine and DRYNESS – which I’m convinced makes a difference, so we’ll have to wait and see how things go when that stops – and given it’s the weekend that will probably stop tomorrow! Watch this space! I’m really hopeful though that things will carry on going well and I can reduce the methotrexate in six months’ time!

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m so happy for you! I hope cutting back on your meds goes well. We’re still trying to get my pain to a level that I can function with. She upped my pain meds last week and I had to go in for MRIs of my shoulders this week (over 2 days)…she’s thinking there’s something wrong other than RA and OA. I’m hoping to get the results today so we can proceed with treatment.

    Best of luck to you as you continue this crazy battle.

  2. Thank you – and if there IS something other than RA and OA going on for you then I hope it’s found AND TREATED quickly for you so that you get to at the very least an ‘acceptable’ level of pain! It’s hard to accept that you might have to accept constant pain at all – so here’s hoping you won’t have to in the slightly longer term.

  3. I am on the same path as you. I’ve been on an anti inflammation diet for the last 7 months( vegan, no oils, no fish) and I stopped my NSAIDS almost 4 months ago. I don’t have the flu like symptoms I used to have all the time and swelling of hands and feet. If all goes well, I’ll cut back on my Methotrexate pills in 3 months. I’m so happy you are feeling better as well.
    All the best,
    Carol from NH

  4. Fantastic, Carol – I’m really glad that things are going so well for you too. :-) Let’s hope things keep on in the right direction for both of us … and ‘flippers crossed’ for anyone reading the blog that your symptoms improve soon too!

  5. Polly, how wonderful! Yes, “flippers crossed”!

  6. Thanks Carla!! I hope things pick up for you soon too!

  7. Great news. Hope things continue to go well for you.

  8. Thank you Fran!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

