More blood test trials and tribulations

June 2, 2015 at 3:21 pm | Posted in rheumatoid arthritis (RA) | 1 Comment

Well, I thought I’d cracked the blood test issue – how not to have to wait an hour or so – turn up just before they take the ticket board down at 11am, grab a ticket and wait, hopefully, no more than ten minutes or so. It’s worked the last couple of times …

So I went in at about quarter to eleven and … no ticket board on the wall! Lots and LOTS of people in the waiting room, but no ticket board … o’oh …

So I queued up at reception and said explained that I’d come for a blood test and that I’d understood the ticket board stayed up until 11, and where, pray, were the tickets? It transpired that normally they had two phlebotomists on but today they only had the one, and there was such a long wait they’d taken the board away early as she had to start another clinic at 11! ‘Can you come back tomorrow?’ I said I supposed I’d have to but it was rather awkward as I WORKED, and then I said, ‘But will she be on her own again tomorrow?’

‘Can’t you just come in earlier?’ asked the receptionist. I said that while I could, that would no doubt mean waiting an hour or so, at it had in the past, and since I WORKED I wasn’t willing to do that. ‘When will she have someone else working with her again?’ Blank, fish-eyed stare from receptionist – who has no doubt been cultivating her black, fish-eyed stares ever since she started as a guard-dog – sorry, I mean doctor’s receptionist.

‘Will the other phlebotomist be in tomorrow?’

Blank, fish-eyed stare.

Deep breath. ‘If I come in tomorrow, is it going to be the same situation … ah, or don’t you know? Is the other phlebotomist off sick and you don’t know when she’s coming back?’

‘Oh no – it’s half term – she’s on holiday. She’ll be back on Monday.’

Very deep breath – ‘Why, thank you! That’s what I wanted to know. In that case I’ll come back next week.’

So off I went. I will NOT go back Monday as Mondays are always manic, but I will try Tuesday. I hope I can get a blood test because my repeat prescription is due on Wednesday and if I haven’t had the blood test they won’t give me the prescription! Watch this space.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That’s what we in the States call adding insult to injury. (And why they call us patients/patience …) Good luck!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

