Happy New Year – and flaring again!

January 12, 2016 at 9:58 am | Posted in rheumatoid arthritis (RA) | Leave a comment

Happy New Year everyone. I hope you all had good and healthy (as possible) starts to the New Year. I had a lovely Christmas and New Year – very relaxing, Christmas at Mum’s and New Year at ours with Mum and an old friend from uni… and no arthritis problems to speak of! Hurrah.

Unfortunately I can’t say the same now. I’ve been flaring since Saturday morning (it now being Tuesday morning) and last night the flare ramped up a notch from ‘flarette’ to the real thing so I’m sitting waiting for a call back from the doctor.

In the meantime, my nurse appointment that should have been 5th February has just been postponed by the hospital to 6th May – although I can always call the helpline, for what it’s worth, between times. It actually makes more sense to have it in May as that puts it slap bang between my last and next consultant appointments, and also if I see them in February and say ‘No change since you upped my methotrexate’ they’d probably just shrug and say ‘It’s barely been three months dear’, whereas in May it’ll have been six and if it’s really not working, then it’ll be clear by then.

As always the worst of it’s in my left knee but I’m also having ‘fun’ with my left elbow, right ankle (makes walking interesting!) and hands, especially at night and of course first thing in the morning. Fortunately I can still type so ‘putting beans on the table’ is not a problem yet. However, I foresee a day off in the near future to rest up the knee, as it’s impossible to do that while sitting at the desk in the office.

I think I need to make a list of the ‘aids’ that I can use to help when I’m having a flare, and then remember (HA!) to refer back to it so that I actually bring into the office things like the cooling spray, the stock, the neck pillow etc. etc. … none of which I have with me today of course! I’m also missing one of the junior penguins are her young daughter has flu so she’s had to take time off (quite rightly too!) to look after her … so I’m battling deadlines with 1.5 out of 3 of us down. (I’m counting myself as the 0.5!) I just hope the other ‘JP’ turns up for work today!

On the bright side, this being a Pollyanna blog, I’m mighty glad this doesn’t happen too often! My last flare was the end of September, only 3.5 months, but I know, and sympathize with, people who have to put up with this level all the time.

Here’s hoping the doc calls back SOON and gives me a pred taper (or something even better) without seeing me, like last time!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

