Things to remember when having a knee flare

January 16, 2016 at 6:59 pm | Posted in rheumatoid arthritis (RA) | 13 Comments

Warning: this is not an extensive list of things to do when you have a knee flare; everyone’s different. It’s a short list of things I need to do when have a knee flare, but usually don’t!

  1. Phone the the helpline AND the GP within a couple of days.
  2. REST IT! Don’t pretend it’ll be fine if you just ignore it. It usually isn’t!
  3. Use the darned stick – it’s why you’ve got one, so you can use it. Yes, even in the house! Keeping pressure off a flaring knee helps.
  4. Use the physicool bandage – it seems to help a lot, especially in the morning, and it feels good too.
  5. ask for help and accept it when it’s offered. It all helps to keep the weight off the knee and let it mend.
  6. Loose some weight! Easier said than done! Must ask Carla for tips!

So I’ve been doing some of this over the last few days and the knee is SLOWLY mending. It’s been a week now and I’m still hobbling but hope to be (need to be) back at work on Monday!

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hey Polly: Thanks for the shout out! I do hope you get a bit of rest over the weekend and that by Monday everything is back in top shape. I don’t know how it works over there, but if it’s not better, you might think about seeing your doctor for a steroid injection in the knee. I know you’re on pred, which helps overall, but sometimes you just need a focused application of the steroids to calm things down. Works wonders for my poor knees. (I personally think you have a great excuse to have hubby wait on you all weekend and bring you tea and sweets while you put your feet up!)

  2. Now the trick is remembering and not retreating to comfortable denial! x

  3. Hi Carla! I had one of those injections once … And swore never again as it was worse than the RA, I may have to change my mind if it carries on though.

    I don’t know … I say I need to come to you for weight loss advice and you recommend tea and sweets??! LOL! Hubby is being very good and patient as ever though. 🙂

  4. Hi Jude… SO TRUE!

  5. I’m still in Camp Denial :).

  6. Lol! How’s the gluten free thing going. I’m toying with the idea in the back of my mind…

  7. Thanks for remembering! It’s going well, there’s such a wealth of gluten free food around these days, it’s not much of a hardship. I was extremely sceptical in the beginning, and remained sceptical in comfy Camp Denial until I had all those mince pies Christmas time…THEN I WAS convinced! Took a good month though.

  8. Glad it’s going well but hmm … No more mince pies? Mo more bread would be hard enough but no mince pies? Eek!

  9. …which is why I ate the mince pies…. :D. Gluten free bread isn’t as bad as it used to be, and there’s gluten free flour to make your own if you fancy.

  10. all good advice. Don’t forget to follow it 🙂

  11. Hmm, sounds like hard work…

  12. Aye, Lene, there’s the rub … Remembering!

  13. Yeah…I just had 2 slices of normal wholemeal for breakfast. Lovely :).


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

