Knee flare over!

July 6, 2016 at 8:56 pm | Posted in arthrits, Me, rheumatoid arthritis, rheumatoid arthritis, rheumatoid arthritis (RA) | 9 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Hurrah – I finished my week’s worth of prednisolone last night and I’m glad to say the knee is better! Oh … and the helpline phoned me back … on Monday … so five days after I phoned them. Yeah, like I said, they really are NOT for emergencies! I didn’t actually get to speak to her as she phoned on the home number even though I’d requested they try me at work. ‘If you didn’t manage to speak to the doctor or need some advice, do call us back.’ I did see the doctor and didn’t need advice, so I haven’t called back.

I’m still getting a bit of pain in that knee on and off, but then I usually do; I’ve got full ‘bendability’ in it and most of the time it’s not hurting, so I’m quite content … although I do feel as though I’ve just run a marathon, having been cheering on Andy Murray as I watched him (on the telly) fighting his way to the semifinals at Wimbledon!

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m happy to hear that your feeling better!! I always had a love/hare relationship with the steroids! They made me feel like I was on an emotional roller coaster the whole time I took them! Hope you have a good day

  2. I’ve never had to take them for a long period – maximum two weeks, almost always only one week, with months in between, which means other than occasionally getting a bit more peckish than I should be, I’ve had no side effects really.

  3. Well that’s good. When I was first diagnosed I had to take 60mg per day for months until we got my RA under control… I gained like 15 lbs and had the moon face! Not a pleasant experience.

  4. Yeah, that must be awful – I’m big enough already – too big already in fact, so that would be a total nightmare. Thankfully my RA is mild and got reasonably under control quite quickly, once I got on the MTX. I hope yours is under control now!

  5. It is for the most part. I also have fibromyalgia to go along with it.. I juice every day and take a supplement called Nerium EHT so I have managed to get off of all my meds.. I still get a little stiff when a rain front is moving through but nothing like it used to be.. Thank goodness!!

  6. Delighted to hear that you’re doing so well now! 🙂

  7. Thank you! I hope you have a great day.

  8. Well, Yay! So glad the flare is over. I’m about to start on a low-dose of steroids to get me through my surgery recovery until I can get back on the meds. As you say, they’re good in short bursts. In the meantime, we Texans have taken a cue from Brexit and are contemplating Texit. Once its own country, there has been a movement for a while now to secede from the US and this has recently gained more traction and prominence by the UK’s planned departure from the EU. (Of course, the other movement is to get the UK to join the North American Trade Agreement … I think that’s stretching the term “North America” a bit far …) I hope all else is well.

  9. Hi Carla, Well, you know what I think of Brexit, so if you Texit I hope it’s much more sensible and successful! Best of luck with your steroids – I hope they work as well for you as they have for me … and that you’re able to get back onto the usual meds soon!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

