Pilates and a flare – hopefully coincidental!

December 10, 2016 at 6:01 pm | Posted in rheumatoid arthritis (RA) | 7 Comments

Yesterday I had my first ever Pilates experience – not sure what to call it other than an experience; not a class, not a treatment, I suppose a one-to-one session is the best way to put it. I did an hour of totally personalized exercises on weird bits of equipment – and it was great! The instructor was extremely encouraging and also had a sense of humour that fitted well with mine. She’d tell me exactly what to do, for instance, ‘Lie on your back, make sure you’re straight, as we practiced before, grip the bar with your hands, keep the elbows into your body, relax your shoulders and pull steadily down.’ I’d do that (or so I’d think) and she’d say, ‘Well done, really well done! Now, once more … ‘ and then dryly, ‘This time with the elbows in and relaxed shoulders’ and we’d both get the giggles slightly.

The other good thing was that if anything hurt AT ALL she would stop me from doing the exercise and either suggest something else or find another way to do it that didn’t hurt. She was very responsive and got by my over eager-to-please not going to admit it hurts attitude by keeping an eye on my face!

I felt as though I’d been stretched on a rack at the end of it … but in a good way!

Luckily for me my lovely hubby happened to have the day off and drove me in to Norwich and back. I think he was worried I’d come out completely crippled and unable to drive, and certainly while the first part wasn’t the case, I was very grateful I didn’t have to drive home after that first effort. Next time I will though!

Other than a slight feeling of stretchedness I felt fine – full of energy in fact. I did expect to be stiff as a board the next morning though – not so much joints, although of course they’re always a concern, but muscles I’d used in the session that I didn’t even know I had. For anyone that’s read Dune (or rather read Dune and actually remembers the beginning of it) I felt a bit like Paul Atreides being taught muscle training by his (not so) lovely mother! (Only my Pilates instructor really was lovely!)

I wasn’t even stiff as a board this morning – or even particularly stiff at all. But this afternoon all of a sudden I’m having a bit of a flare (or at very least a bad flare-ette). Given that I was fine this morning and that the weather’s taken a slight turn for the worse, I’m hoping it has nothing to do with the Pilates at all. Time will tell. Next appointment in January and if I have a flare straight after that one I’ll start to worry.

 

 

 

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Bravo for trying this, Penguin! I hope you’re feeling better today and that your flare/ette wasn’t associated with your Pilates session. Exercise in any form is so good for us–and so hard to actually do! Yay for you!
    And hey, happy holidays! I hope they’re wonderful for you and your hubby, and with a fantastic New Year in 2017, as well. 😀

  2. Thank you m’dear. Much better today although not right. I really relates to the Pilates… I certainly hope not! So true re exercise! Thanks re holidays … I know Xmas isn’t such a big deal across the pond but I hope you and yours have a lovely one and a happy and healthy new year!

  3. I hope you can continue. I suspect that if you are able to continue you will be more aggressive. I hope the flare subsides soon.

  4. I’m strongly suspecting the flare is coincidence – it had better be! 🙂 It’s already reduced, thanks – managing it with ibuprofen and paracetamol (Tylenol) so not too bad really!

  5. I hope the flare was a coincidence. I personally find pilates really helpful for me – and doesn’t set off my flares, so I hope that’s the same for you. Good luck with the next one.

  6. hope the flare was coincidental. I get lots of benefits from pilates and it doesn’t seem to set me off on a flare. Always good to try new things also….. so well done for giving it a go.

  7. Pretty sure it’s a coincidence Ruth! Looking forward to carrying on with it next year and seeing some benefits!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

