On the Third Day Before Christmas…

December 23, 2016 at 5:16 pm | Posted in Me, rheumatoid arthritis, rheumatoid arthritis (RA) | 10 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

On the third day ‘fore Christmas my Arthur gave to me, a bad pain in my left knee.

On the second day ‘fore Christmas my Arthur gave to me, two swollen ankles, and a bad pain in my left knee.

Actually, to be strictly accurate, yesterday it was a bad right ankle, but that didn’t scan! Today’s verse is completely accurate, unfortunately. I had recovered nicely from the last flare after a few days, only to go down with a short, sharp and rather nasty stomach upset that put me in bed for a couple of days. This week I’ve been mostly OK, if a little stressed at work, and then suddenly on Wednesday everything at work went right, and I was unexpectedly able to finish for Christmas that afternoon – so hubby and I had a day out at Wells-Next-the-Sea on the North Norfolk coast. It was a glorious, sunny day – if rather cold – and we had a lovely time, except that as we were walking down the high street, suddenly I wasn’t … walking that is … or having a lovely time for that matter. I had a sudden and completely out of nowhere pain in my right ankle.

‘It’ll go in a minute,’ I said cheerful. ‘These sudden ankle pains always do. Let’s pop into this bookshop and get out of the cold while it gets better.’ Several minutes later and £20 lighter, the ankle hadn’t got better … although I had gained a rather fun read and got a little pressie for hubby too. So we walked (I hobbled, hubby walked) down to the harbour and had fish and chips while we waited for the ankle to mend … and it did … or so I thought. We had a lovely walk down the harbour wall but decided not to risk going the whole way (it’s a mile each way) in case the ankle went again. The sun shone, the lapwings called, the gulls squawked, the starlings sang beautifully in the hopes we’d feed them chips, and all was delightful.

Then when I got home the ankle started to twinge again. ‘It’ll be fine by the morning,’ I said confidently. (I don’t learn, do I?!) This morning it wasn’t terrible but it wasn’t good. This afternoon I decided to have a bath and see if that helped. It didn’t. By the time I got out of the bath BOTH ankles were flaring and I had knee pain too. And that’s where I’m at now.

On the bright side, I finished a felt picture I’ve been working on for a while and the hair dresser is coming soon so I can look slightly nicer than usual (not hard) for the first day of Hanukkah and then Christmas Day (aka 2nd day of Hanukkah this year), so it’s not all doom and gloom.

Happy Holidays everybody!

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Good lord, it’s always something isn’t it? You think you’re catching a break and can get ahead and some damn joint acts up. I admire your attitude and wish you and your husband and family a merry Christmas!!!

  2. Thank you m’dear, and I hope things are getting better for you! Here’s hoping for a happy and healthy new year for us both!

  3. Pollyanna, I hope things get better. Ouch, that hurts me completely across the pond. Sheryl and I hope you and your family have a Merry Christmas and a happy New Year.

  4. Thanks Rick! Feeling a bit better today. Wishing you and Sheryl a Merry Christmas and a happy and pain free new year!

  5. I hate those sneaky flares! So sorry you’re battling them just now, but glad you’re home and cozy and prepped for the holiday, Penguin. Here’s wishing you and your sweet hubby a happy Hanukkah and a merry Christmas, too!

  6. Thanks Wren, I’m feeling much better today and well pampered by my ‘sweet hubby’! 😊 I hope you and all the family have a lovely Christmas too!

  7. I’m sorry. Hopefully your holiday celebrations weren’t too badly impacted. Here’s hoping that in 2017 Mr. Arthur becomes a hermit in a cave somewhere far, far away!

  8. Thanks Carla – amazingly I was all clear by Xmas day and have had a lovely time off so far. I hope you had a good break too!

  9. Oh no! I hope things have improved. Hoping 2017 is painfree and full of happy things.

  10. Thanks Cathy, and wishing the same for you!!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

