Knee’s better!

August 3, 2017 at 8:42 am | Posted in rheumatoid arthritis (RA) | 4 Comments

Hurrah! I have to say though, I was deeply unimpressed with the opioids! The knee flare got better of its own accord, so yay that it didn’t need steroids, but boo that I probably had two more days of pain than I would have done if I’d been given a pred taper! The opiods were to be taken three times in 24 hours – fat lot of use that is if you wake up in pain in the night, which I ALWAYS do if I’m having a flare. I had to save one dose to be taken at bedtime and then couldn’t take the next one till morning. As they tended to provide good pain relief for about three hours, this was … less than perfect!!

As to receptionists triaging, I suppose I’ve been lucky that it’s taken this long to reach our surgery. This is an article about it from 2013 saying 1 in 8 practices were doing this very thing.

I’m on the phone now waiting to see if I can get through the triage system for something non-RA-related and minor. In spite of being both those things, it might require antibiotics … but I bet I can only see a nurse who can’t prescribe … and that’s if I’m lucky. We’ll see … I am number eight in the call queue.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.