Another injection coming up … ?

Thankfully this one will NOT be in my knee – the one in the knee was possibly the most painful experience of my life so far – but then again it was short-lived and it did cure the problem. This one, though, is going to be in my shoulder.

If you’ve been reading the blog for a while you’ll know I’ve had problems with my shoulder, which turned out to be non-RA related, for a while. I’ve had several physio sessions and a variety of exercises, but although it seemed to be getting better for a while, it suddenly got worse. It’s ‘tendinopathy’ (and that does appear to be the right spelling). It’s the chronic version of the probably more familiar (certainly more familiar to me) tendonitis; in other words it’s chronic inflammation around the tendons, in this case those that attach the rotator cuff muscles to the shoulder bone (but don’t ask me which shoulder bone because my anatomy isn’t great!)

Anyhow, since physio isn’t working, it’s an injection for me. I can’t say I’m looking forward to it, but it’ll be nice to be able to do my bra up myself again!

Thanks to the weird and wonderful workings of the NHS though, the physio has to write to my GP to ask her if she’ll give the injection; I then have to phone my GP in about a week (to give her time to receive the letter) and ask her if she’ll do it, based on the letter. I think she has the right to say no, based on nothing more than the fact that it’s the hospital physios recommending it, and it will be her budget if she does it, so she can send me back to them. I’m not sure about that, but reading between the lines I think that’s how it works.

Since the doctor is a couple of minutes down the road and the physio is a half-hour drive away, and since it hurts the shoulder to drive, I’m hoping common sense might prevail. We shall see. NHS Wonderland Part 4 coming up, I fear!

6 thoughts on “Another injection coming up … ?

  1. Sorry about the shoulder pain. Are they talking steroid injection? How do you know it’s not RA related? RA can attack soft tissue including tendons. I’ve had recent pain and popping in my shoulder and my rheumy says its likely caused by RA.

  2. Good point Andrew, bad semantics Polly! 🙂 What I really meant was it’s not RA – rather than ‘it’s not RA related’! As you say, it could well be RA related!

  3. I’ve had numerous cortisone injections in my shoulders, and all but one of mine were wonderfully effective. Haven’t had one in the knee to compare, but it’s much better than the one I had in my hip (trochanteric bursitis).

    I much prefer to see my family physician for steroid injections. He uses kenalog, and everyone else (2 rheumys, and the ortho) uses depo medrol, so I don’t know if it’s the different medicine, or if he’s just way better at it than everyone else.

    You probably don’t need to dread a shoulder injection. I actually look forward to them because they are so beneficial. Good luck!

  4. I’m sending positive mind-rays at your GP, Penguin, so she’ll do your injection without a hitch. And I’m also concentrating on how WELL the injection will work to ease your shoulder pain. Having had many bad flares in my shoulders, I know how frustrating and even disabling a painful shoulder can be. I’m always amazed at how much everything we do involves shoulder movement. When it works right we don’t even notice.

    Wishing you the best of luck, m’dear. 🙂

Leave a comment