Autumn is doing a very good winter impression this morning

What happened to those gorgeous sunny days we had last week – well, I’m glad I had the right week to go on holiday, anyway. I can hardly believe I was sitting on Brighton beach eating ice cream last week, whereas this morning I had to put the car’s heating on coming into work as my fingers nearly froze to the steering wheel.

Which reminds me – a friend mentioned this morning that she had a rather crunchy ice cream yesterday on Brancaster beach as the sand was blowing into it! That made me realise what a great advantage Brighton’s stony beach is. May not be quite as comfortable to sit on, but the wind REALLY has to blow before you get stones in your ice cream!

Anyway, back to frozen fingers … OK, I exaggerate – it wasn’t actually even frosty, but the cold really got into my joints and it felt like my fingers had locked into place. Oh joy – that’s what I’ve got to look forward to this winter. Looking on the bright side … hmm, now where did I put that bright side? It must be here somewhere … oh yes, I found one – I get a few days respite next week if the whole Barcelona thing comes off – they’re still getting 25 degrees and sunshine as far as I know!

Leave a comment